Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Nevada Press Association Honors Nevada Magazine

Left to Right: Melissa Loomis, Carrie Roussel, Matthew B. Brown, Janet Geary, Tony deRonnebeck. Not Pictured: Charlie Johnston, Sean Nebeker, Pati Stefonowicz
Nevada Magazine won First Place-General Excellence, and Editor Matthew B. Brown was named Outstanding Journalist, among other accolades, in the Magazines category of the 2011 Nevada Press Association awards. Plaques and certificates were distributed at a ceremony at the historic Piper's Opera House in Virginia City on Saturday, October 15.

Among Nevada Magazine's other distinguished honors are:

Advertising General Excellence

Best Page Designer(s)
First Place: Tony deRonnebeck
Third Place: Sean Nebeker

Best Entertainment Writing
First Place: Charlie Johnston

Best Regular Department
First Place: “History

Best-In House Promotion
First Place: Sean Nebeker, “We're Traveling Nevada

Best Multiple Photo Essay
First Place: Tony deRonnebeck (designer) and various photographers, “Wildflowers of Nevada”

Best Feature Story
Second Place: Charlie Johnston, “Tales From Las Vegas

Best Illustrated Photo
First Place: Steve Woodbury (Nevada Commission on Tourism), “Rhyolite

Best Feature Photo
First Place: Rachid Dahnoun (freelancer), “Pyramid Lake”

A complete list of 2011 Nevada Press Association award winners can be found here. Nevada Magazine also won First Place-General Excellence in 2009, the first year the Nevada Press Association added magazines to its annual awards competition.

"This is especially rewarding during our 75th-anniversary year," says Publisher Janet Geary. "We are extremely honored to be recognized by our peers in the journalism industry."